Books & Authors | Chronogram Magazine
Dog Days Reading List: 6 Book Picks for August 2021

Dog Days Reading List: 6 Book Picks for August 2021

Robert Burke Warren reviews Americanaland, plus short synopses on To Marry or to March, This Poison Heart, The Stranger Behind You, Horse Girls, and Being Clem.

Tags:

Reading List: 6 Books to Read in July 2021

My Time Will Come and Other Reviews
Jane Kinney-Denning reviews Ian Manuel's My Time will come plus 5 other book picks for July.

Tags:

6 Books to Read in June 2021

Carolyn Quimby reviews Jonathan Lee’s The Great Mistake. Plus short reviews of Jacky Davis’s Sunny-Side Up, Phoebe North’s Strange Creatures, Michael Slaby’s For All the People, Edward M. Cohen’s Before Stonewall, and Meg Bashwiner and Joseph Fink The First Ten Years.

Tags:

6 Books To Dive Into in May 2021

A search for one women's lost ancestral history, a child friendly spin on an ancient Chinese tale, and recipes from a cannabis cookbook.

Tags:

6 Books For Your April Reading List

A review of Jo Ann Beard's Festival Days, an anthology of 30 short stories, essays, and plays, plus five short book write-ups for your April reading

Tags:

Frame by Frame

Tony Levin's Images from the Road
Images of Kingston resident and bass legend Tony Levin's life on the road.

Tags:

Six Books for Your Spring Reading List

A roundup of the newest reads; from a deep dive into the world of modern mycological movement to a silly, rhyming tale of pirates.

Tags:

Bookmark this Page: Hudson Valley's Indie Bookstores

The ultimate list of new and used bookstores in the Hudson Valley—from trendy bar/bookstore combos to historic train stations and labyrinthine barns, all the destinations for an upstate book lover.

Tags:

Try This At Home

The DIY Art Projects of Open Studio
More than a dozen well-known contemporary artists created DIY art projects for Open Studio (Phaidon), which features photos by Casey Kelbaugh.

Tags:

6 Books for Your February 2021 Reading List

A longer review of Sam J. Miller's The Blade Between, plus 5 other picks for your February reading list.

Tags:

6 Books for Your January 2021 Reading List

A longer review of David Michaelis's new biography on influential first lady Eleanor Roosevelt, plus 5 other picks for your January reading list.

Tags:

6 Books for Your December 2020 Reading List

Carloyn Quimby reviews Mary Gordon’s Payback, a new novel from the award winning author about a lifelong reckoning between two women that wends its way from a boarding school in New England to reality television. Plus short reviews of Lotus Kay’s Jenny the Chimpanzee; Edward Schwarzschild’s In Security; Tom Schachtman’s, The Memoir of the Minotaur; Jeffrey McDaniel’s Holiday in the Islands of Grief; and James Lancel MElhinney’s, Sketchbook Traveler.

Tags:

Parting Shot: Porcupine in Hemlock | December 2020

A photograph by Nora Scarlett from her new book, Ledge Lake Leaf Labyrinth, which is an homage to the Shawangunks.

Tags:

An Excerpt From Repair Revolution

How Repair Cafes & Its Fixers Are Transforming Our Throwaway Culture
Since the world’s first Repair Cafe was held in Amsterdam in 2009, the fix-it movement has swept across the globe. One early adopting community was New Paltz. Its founder, John Wackman, teams up Elizabeth Knight to document the culture of thrift and resilience in Repair Revolution (New World Library).

Tags:

Sketchbook: John Cuneo

Illustrator John Cuneo shows off some sketches from his latest sketchbook.

Tags:

6 Books to Gift this Holiday Season

6 Books to Gift this Holiday Season

Tags:

Archives


Hudson Valley Events

submit event
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Tue., Aug. 3, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 4, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 5, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 6, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 7, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 8, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 9, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 10, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 11, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 12, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 13, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 14, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Aug. 15, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 16, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 17, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 18, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 19, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 20, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 21, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 22, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 23, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 25, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 26, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 27, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 28, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 29, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 30, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 31, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 1, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 2, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 3, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 4, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 5, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 6, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 7, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 8, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 9, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 10, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 11, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Sept. 12, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 13, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 14, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 15, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 16, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 17, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 18, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 19, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 20, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 21, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 22, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 23, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 24, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 25, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 26, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 27, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 28, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 29, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 30, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 1, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 2, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 3, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 4, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 5, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 6, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 7, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 8, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 9, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Oct. 10, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 11, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 12, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 13, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 14, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 15, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 16, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 17, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 18, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 19, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 20, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 21, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 22, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 23, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 24, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 25, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 26, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 27, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 28, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 29, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 30, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 31, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 1, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 2, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 3, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 4, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 5, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 6, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 7, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 8, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 9, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 10, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 11, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 12, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 13, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Nov. 14, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 15, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 16, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 17, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 18, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 19, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 20, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 21, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 22, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 23, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 24, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 25, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 26, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 27, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 28, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 29, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 30, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 1, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 2, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 3, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 4, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 5, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 6, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 7, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 8, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 9, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 10, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 11, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Dec. 12, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 13, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 14, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 15, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 16, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 17, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 18, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 19, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 20, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 21, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 22, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 23, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 24, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 25, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 26, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 27, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 28, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 29, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 30, 10 a.m. and Fri., Dec. 31, 10 a.m.
Hudson Valley Artists 2021: Who Really Cares? @ Samuel Dorsky Museum of Art

Hudson Valley Artists 2021: Who Really Cares?

July 7-Nov. 14, 11 a.m.-5 p.m. — The 14th annual Hudson Valley Artists exhibition, will be curated by Helen...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required